Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d like to find under the Christmas tree

christmas1christmas2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new theme is posted and today we’re looking at books we’d like to receive for Christmas.

The hardest part of this week’s list is narrowing it down to just ten. Am I a bit greedy?!

1.       The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry. I’ve had my eye on this for ages, mainly because I’ve seen a ton of good reviews on the blogs. Fingers crossed.

2.       Anything at all by Ismail Kadare. I don’t mind which book. Any will do.

3.       Mansfield Park or Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. This year has been an Austen free zone and it’d be nice to cross another of the major novels off the list.

4.       Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray. If only this didn’t look so darn huge, I’m sure I’d have read it already. Maybe in 2017.

5.       The Sellout by Paul Beatty. It’s been hard to ignore all the buzz about this novel. I’m intrigued.

6.       The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton. I’ve not yet read any Australasian novels as part of the Around the World in 80 Books challenge so this might be a nice way of doing it.

7.      The Spy Who Loved: The Secrets and Lives of Christine Granville by Clare Mulley. I heard a radio documentary about Christine Granville last week and now I’m a bit obsessed.

8. Fathers and Sons by Ivan Turgenev. I try to read at least one Russian novel a year and this, I think, is the leading candidate for 2017. I’ve not tackled any Turgenev before.

9. The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbary. Again, it’s the reviews that did it for me with this one.

10. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton. I read The House of Mirth last year and it was great. I’d like to read another.

That’s it for another week, and probably my last post before Christmas. Have a merry one 🙂

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d like to find under the Christmas tree

  1. I’m also excited to read The Essex Serpent, it looks great. I need Australian & NZ novels for AW80 Books too, and The Luminaries has been on my TBR pile forever… the size means I keep putting it off! Maybe 2017 is the year…

    Like

Leave a Reply

