Top Ten Tuesday: Autumn TBR

AUTUMNTBR1.jpg

AUTUMNTBR2.jpg

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’re looking at upcoming books on our To Be Read lists…

My last To-Read list was made back in March. Since then I’ve read two of the books I listed. Just two. This means that almost all the books on this new list will sound annoyingly familiar to anyone with a passing acquaintance with this blog. It also means I’m going to have to work harder at reducing my TBR pile to stop this happening EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. It’s pointless to keep listing books that I then don’t read and then having to keep relisting the same ones each time there’s a Top Ten Tuesday theme like this. So, decision time: between now and the end of the year I’m going to have a serious go at some of my unread books, even if it means all my other reading plans get neglected in the mean time. These are dire times and they call for desperate measures.

Here are some of the books that I really hope will get read soon:

1. The Woodlanders by Thomas Hardy. Still on the list nearly a year after its first TBR appearance, this is proof (if it was necessary) of all the things I’ve just said.

2. Shylock is my Name by Howard Jacobson. This one hasn’t been on the list for quite as long as it was a present on my last birthday. I’ve not read any of Jacobson’s other books but I’m intrigued by the subject.

3. Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimimanda Ngozi Andichi. Yes, I know I’m the only person who hasn’t read it yet.

4. Vile Bodies by Evelyn Waugh. I bought this in a tiny but brilliant bookshop in Ironbridge. I keep forgetting I have it.

5. The Hermitage by Malcolm Bradbury. I bought this in my first year at university. Thirteen years later it’s still lurking on my shelf, making me feel guilty.

6. Katherine by Anya Seton. I made such a fuss about how much I wanted this book.

7. A Place of Greater Safety by Hilary Mantel. I’d feel more optimistic about reading this one if it wasn’t so bloody huge. I seem to have read a lot of big books this year.

8. The Warden by Anthony Trollope. I had every intention of reading loads of Trollope novels last year. It never really happened.

9. The Plague by Albert Camus. I’m just put off by the title. I expect it’s going to be a little bit grim.

10. Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie. I don’t know why I haven’t read this yet. 

There’s a lot for me to be getting on with here. Wish me luck!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Autumn TBR

  1. It’s a great list, so good luck! Haha! I did try to read A Place of Greater Safety once, but the book was so huge I found it uncomfortable to hold! I’ve been promising ever since that I’ll get the Kindle version… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been looking at ‘A Place of Greater Safety’ on my shelf for a while now but like you I’ve been reading a lot of big books this year, and really don’t feel like diving into another one just yet. Still, it is supposed to be really good. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Botathen Ghost (1867) by R. S. Hawker | the blue bore

Leave a Reply

