Top Ten Tuesday: facts about me

It’s been a while since my last TTT post. I let them slide back in March and have been waiting for a good reason to go back; this week’s theme is ideal since it’s pretty vague and doesn’t involve racking my brains for ten books that tenuously fit the given topic! The general idea this week is for a series of bookish facts about me, but I’m rubbish at following very basic instructions so….

Earlier this week I was thinking about how certain books can end up tied to specific times and places in our memories, so I’ve adapted the question to suit this instead. Here are some books and the memories that they spark for me:

1. I read The Great Gatsby during one lonely night in a Polish convent.

2. I read Primo Levi’s If Not Now, When? when I should I should have been writing my Masters dissertation (and I’m eternally grateful to my then flatmate for hiding the book so I could get some work done).

3. I read Meg Cabot’s The Princess Diaries series when I was far too old and I’m not ashamed.

4. I read Pride and Prejudice over several long days in a hospital waiting room when my nan was sick.

5. I read The Lovely Bones against my better judgement and have regretted it ever since.

6. I read Rebecca whilst hidden in a field of long grass by a river at the height of summer.

7.  I read P.S. I Love You at work and was very nearly fired from the horrible retail job I was doing at the time.

8. I read Jane Eyre three times in a week when I was thirteen and off school for the Easter holidays.

9. I read 100 Years of Solitude whilst lounging by a swimming pool in the south of France with my sister by my side.

10. I read Twilight because my friend hated it so much and I was curious.

That’s it for another Top Ten. I’ll try not to leave it quite so long next time!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: facts about me

  1. I literally reread The Princess Diaries a couple of weeks ago, and I’m pretty ‘old’, too! I love that series and I think the humour is accessible regardless of your age. NO SHAME. 😀

    But why do you regret reading The Lovely Bones? Is it because it’s so good, or because it’s so bad?

    Liked by 1 person

    • There is definitely something ageless about the Princess Diaries that makes it appealing to everyone. I wasn’t a fan of The Lovely Bones, mainly because I had a strong feeling I wouldn’t like it but read it anyway. I found it quite upsetting and then was annoyed with myself for letting myself be manipulated by it! I know it has a lot of fans though so it’s probably just me who felt this way!

      Like

Leave a Reply

