The Fall of the Stone City (2012) by Ismail Kadare

FallofStoneCity

I have to say that I found this book more than a little frustrating and I think it must have been my own fault. I was having such a hard time staying on top of the story that I began to wonder if maybe I was reading too quickly, not paying close attention or just generally slow on the uptake. In truth, it could have been any of those things, I wouldn’t be surprised.

“I’m not Albania, just as you’re not Germany, Fritz. We’re something else.”

The Fall of the Stone City is set in September 1943, as German tanks are rolling across the Albanian border towards the ancient city of Gjirokaster. At the head of the invading forces is Nazi Colonel Fritz von Schwabe  and, as chance would have it, his dear old friend Dr Gurameto happens to be a respected surgeon in the city he’s about to occupy. The two haven’t met since their university days but on his first night in Gjirokaster the Colonel is invited to a dinner party at Gurameto’s home, a dinner party that becomes a local legend, the subject of wild rumour and speculation for years to come. Ten years later, when Albania is in the grip of a Communist dictatorship, the events of that infamous night spell life or death for Dr Gurameto.

It’s been two days since I finished this and I’m still not sure I quite get it. Perhaps Kadare was keeping the story deliberately open ended. Or maybe I missed one small, key detail that would have made sense of everything for me. I’m really not sure. None of this is to suggest that I didn’t like this book, although it did mean my feelings were pretty mixed. Thankfully there were enough likeable things to prevent it putting me off Kadare for good. The writing is beautifully lyrical and I loved the way he weaves together Albanian folklore and real events until even the Nazi invasion begins to feel like a legend. I guess the point is that the lines between fact and fiction are blurred and you can never really trust what you’re told, either by your dearest friend or by the government blaring out propaganda through a tannoy. Maybe this also says something about Albania, as she’s tossed about from one occupier to the other. I don’t know. As I said, I’m confused.

As this was one of my first reads for the Around the World in 80 Books challenge I was pleased to note that Kadare’s descripton of Gjirokaster really brings it to life, much more so than any of the characters in fact. I’m not sure how he does it but I always really like books that have a strong sense of place. After it was over I spent a merry half hour looking at photographs of the city on Google Images, just to see if it looked as I’d imagined. Incidentally, at the end I also went back and reread the dinner party chapter and was amazed to see it in a whole new light. The events of the final chapters give some of the smaller details new meaning. If I’d had more time I’d have liked to read the whole thing again to work out where I went wrong. But alas, it was due back at the library too soon.

Can anyone recommend other works by Kadare?

7 thoughts on “The Fall of the Stone City (2012) by Ismail Kadare

  1. Ooo, I’ve not heard of this book. I read a glowing review for one of his other novels ‘Twilight of the Eastern gods’ so I’ve stuck that in my wish list, but I’m tempted by this for the writing alone, even if it’s one of those open-ended, brooding, not sure what quite happened there novels! I love the idea of looking up photos in google maps, I’m definitely going to start doing that. I’ve had my atlas out while I’ve been reading and it’s made such a difference to the sense of place. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As a Kadare fan I must say that his latest novels, written in the 90s and 2000s simply aren’t as great as those written under the communist dictatorship in Albania, and The Fall Of The Stone City (2008) is no exception
    I can recommend the works he’s written in the 70s and early 80s, e.g.
    ‘Chronicle in stone’ (about his childhood in Gjirokaster during WW2,),
    ‘Broken April’ (which seems to be his most popular novel outside of Albania and Kosovo)
    ‘The Palace of Dreams’
    ‘The Ghost Rider’ (about the albanian legend of Constantine and Doruntine)
    ‘The File on H.’
    etc etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for the recommendations. I’m going to the library tomorrow and will look up some of these books while I’m there. I vaguely remember seeing Broken April last time so maybe I will be lucky!

      Like

  3. Pingback: #AW80Books February Round Up | Hard Book Habit

  4. Pingback: #AW80Books: Struggling with Ismail Kadare’s ‘The Fall of the Stone City’ | Hard Book Habit

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: new-to-me authors in 2016 | the blue bore

Leave a Reply

