My big pile of unread books

January always seems like a good time for a bit of a clear out so this weekend I’ve spent a few hours boxing up unwanted books, cds and dvds. Some will go to charity shops, some will get sent off to one of those online we-buy-your-old-stuff companies.

I’m always surprised by the amount of stuff we have so it’s nice to have a de-clutter every now and again. On this occasion I was hoping it might free up some much-needed space on my bookshelves but, to be very honest, it hasn’t freed up enough. It’s still a bit of a squeeze on there and I think I might have to do this all over again in a month or two! But at least I’ve made a start.

While I was inspecting my bookshelves I thought it’d be interesting to see just how many of my books I’ve not even read. Here’s the result:

Unread

That’s about 29 in total, not including non-fiction books or any of the books that are still unpacked from when we moved into this house (5 years ago….).

It’s not as many as I was expecting but I don’t know how ashamed of myself I need to be! How does this compare to other TBR piles? Does anyone else want to share a photo?!

 

8 thoughts on “My big pile of unread books

  1. I’m having a clean out of my “read but won’t read again” piles. I was surprised how much the “we buy your old stuff” companies were offering! My to read pile literally fills shelves. I feel like I need to be more ruthless, diligent and all kinds of other adjectives in 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

