War and Peace: a new beginning…

WarPeaceOld

In my hunt for a replacement copy of War and Peace I exhausted every Waterstones, W H Smith and charity shop in my home city and in the town where I work. Nothing.

If I’d been enjoying this book less I’d probably have continued reading my old Penguin version, grumbling away about the pages always falling out as I did so. The thing is, though, that I think I might be a bit in love with this book. I want a nice copy. One that’ll withstand multiple readings.

In the end I drove twenty miles down the road and found two copies for sale in Walker’s Books, Stamford. I came away with the Oxford World’s Classics edition, and very pretty it is too.

WarPeaceNew

Much better I’m sure you’ll agree. There’s a lot to be said for reading a book that has all the pages still attached to the binding.

The translator of my old Penguin Classics version isn’t identified anywhere in the book but I know that my new copy is based on the Louise and Aylmer Maude translation. When I got home and compared the two more thoroughly I realised that they were more or less the same, with only a few small changes to some of the French passages in the first chapter. I know that the Maude translation is a well respected one and I’m actually quite relieved that I won’t be changing versions half way through the book. The other copy on the shelf in Walkers was the recent Anthony Briggs translation. It was slightly cheaper but I decided against it because I’d read mixed opinions of this one.

My new copy doesn’t have any extra footnotes but it does have a decent introduction, more detailed character lists, a timeline and some maps. Hopefully this will see me through the next half of the book, with a bit of help from the internet of course.

Since buying my new copy I’ve made it to roughly half way through the rest of Book 2. More on this later….

Leave a Reply

