2015 in books

Afternoon all and I hope you’ve had a wonderful break.

I’ve noticed quite a few end-of-year-review posts popping up on my blog feed over the past week and, not wanting to be left out of the fun, I started to look back over my own reading year. This is my 2015 in books and numbers:

In 2015 I read 33 books and 3 short stories

            I failed to finish 1 book

            88% of the books I read were fiction

            The longest book I read was The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

            The shortest was The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

            The oldest was Emma by Jane Austen

            The newest was Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

            36% of the books I read were published within the last fifteen years

            24% were published before 1900

            I read 24 books by English authors

            I also read books by 4 Americans, 2 Frenchmen, 1 German, 1 Dane and 1 Italian

            54% of the authors I read were female

My most viewed post was a Top Ten Tuesday list of my favourite introverted female characters

I’ve never really kept a list of the books I’ve been reading before so I don’t know how 33 compares to other years. I do know that some of the books I read this year were enormous though so it’s a number I’m pretty happy with.

2015 top 5

 

The five books I enjoyed most: I read significantly more than five enjoyable books this year but these are the ones that stick in my mind at the moment. I’m not counting books I reread, just the new ones.

            White Teeth by Zadie Smith (unblogged)

            The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

            84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

            Far From The Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

            The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton

 

2015 bottom 4.jpg

The books I enjoyed least: I couldn’t think of five, which is nice, so here are four books that weren’t my favourites.

            Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

            Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

            The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

            Dark Fire by C J Sansom (unblogged)

I’m happy that 2015 has been another successfully bookish year. I’ve not read a single book I hated, I’ve discovered some wonderful new authors, reread some old favourites and had a bloody good time in the process. There’s a lot to be pleased about.

Going in to 2016, I’ve still got War and Peace to finish (hopefully anyway, it’d be awful to start the year with a giver-upper) and lots and lots of plans and books to wade my way through. More on these later….

Happy new year all.

 

One thought on “2015 in books

  1. Pingback: My reading year in numbers | the blue bore

Leave a Reply

