September round-up

September

Evenin’ all.

The big news of the month is that we officially ran out of book space. In fact, I think we probably ran out some time ago but it was only as I running the hoover round one afternoon that I noticed the full extent of the problem: books on the floor, books on the sofa, books on the kitchen table, books in the washing basket…. I’ve consolidated the mess onto the sofa for now while I come up with a plan (probably one that involves a clear out and a trip to the charity shop) but in the meantime I had to put a halt to the shopping. This month’s purchases have been pretty sparse as a result:

84 Charing Cross Road by Helen Hanff (already blogged here)

The Warden by Anthony Trollope

All in all I had a pretty productive month. I finished The Count of Monte Cristo on the 10th and since then I’ve read 84 Charing Cross Road, The Moving Finger by Agatha Christie, The Monogram Murders by Sophie Hannah and Emma by Jane Austen. Not bad I reckon. We also saw Coriolanus starring Tom Hiddleston when it was broadcast live to our local cinema from the National Theatre. It was intense and bloody and pretty grim in places but awesome too.

The Sot Weed Factor continues slowly and I’m finding it a bit of a chore at the mo. I’m liking the writing but nothing much has happened to grab my interest yet. While I wait for that to happen I seem subconsciously to be avoiding reading. I will force myself to read more this weekend. I’m sure that’ll work.

Leave a Reply

