The Reading Habits Tag

Charley – of the great Books and Bakes – very kindly tagged me for the Reading Habits tag. I’m not sure where it started but there are some great questions here and I’ve enjoyed reading everyone else’s answers. You get such a nice insight into someone else’s life when you know a little about their reading habits.

Anyhoo, enough of that. Here are my answers….

ReadingHabits

1. Do you have a certain place for reading? I tend to carry a book everywhere so I can read whenever and wherever I can. I spend a lot of time reading at railway stations, on trains, at bus stops and in coffee shops. I’m always in too much of a hurry to read before work but I do like to get a few pages in at night before I go to sleep.

2. Book mark or random piece of paper? I like the idea of bookmarks but they’re never around when I need them. Instead I’ll use whatever I can lay my hands on: receipts, phone bills, shopping lists, postcards, train tickets…. I quite like reopening an old book years later and finding that scrap of paper again. When I re-found the Maltese ferry timetable I’d used to save my place in A Tale Of Two Cities it brought back a flood of memories.

3. Can you just stop anywhere in a book or do you have to stop at the end of a chapter? Usually anywhere. If I have to stop suddenly I can pick it up again pretty easily later.

4. Do you eat or drink when reading? All the time, there’s nothing like a cup of tea and a good book.

5. Music or TV on when reading? I prefer silence but I don’t mind music or TV on in the background, as long as it’s nothing too distracting.

6. One book at a time or several at once? One at a time. I’ve tried reading more but I always end up neglecting one in favour of the other.

7. Reading at home or elsewhere? I’d like to read at home more but it’s not always possible. And I don’t really mind reading on the go, as long as I’m not somewhere where I’m going to get distracted. I don’t really like reading in cars because I always feel ill, but anywhere else is fine.

8. Read out loud or silently in your head? 
Silently. Unless I’m reading a funny bit aloud to P but I think he probably finds that annoying so I try not to do it too often!

9. Do you read ahead or skip pages? Almost never but I was really tempted on several occasions during Les Miserables,  most memorably during a long digression on the battle of Waterloo. This particular digression is NINETEEN chapters long and doesn’t really have any direct bearing on the plot so I think I’d have been justified in skipping ahead a few chapters…. but I didn’t. At the time I had a long train journey ahead of me (a full seven hours between Vienna and Warsaw) so I devoted the entire trip to persevering through the Waterloo chapters. In hindsight, I’m not sure I took it all in and I don’t think it added anything at all to my enjoyment of the book!

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new? I think books are made to be read and loved, not preserved untouched. I break the spines. It makes them easier to read. I also – brace yourselves! – fold down the corner of a page sometimes.

11. Do you write in your books? Yes, particularly if it’s a book that I’m really enjoying. It’s a habit I got into at school and never really grew out of. Nowadays it’s limited mainly to just underlining the bits I like most.

That’s it. Questions complete. I’ve no idea who to tag for this one so if you see it and like it, go ahead!

Thanks again to Charley for the nomination.

5 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Tag

  1. Pingback: The Reading Habits Tag | lizzyreadsbooks

    • Thanks for the kind comments and I loved your answers! I’m sometimes appalled by the poor state of some of my books (particularly those that’ve been dropped in the bath) so it’s nice to know other people do the same occasionally!

      Like

Leave a Reply

