August round up

August15

I’m ashamed of how rubbish I am at not buying books. Here are the spoils of the last month:

Classic Victorian and Edwardian Ghost Stories by Rex Collins (ed.) 

A Place Of Greater Safety by Hilary Mantel 

Miss Smilla’s Feeling For Snow by Peter Hoeg (blogged here)

The Plague by Albert Camus 

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

Emma by Jane Austen 

Framley Parsonage by Anthony Trollope

The last three were bought for the grand total of £1 in a sale of old stock in the library so at least I don’t feel like I’ve wasted a huge amount of money.

Framley Parsonage caused a significant amount of embarrassment because one of the librarians had kept it aside for me, knowing I’d been looking for similar books recently. As I walked into the library she called over that there was ‘a good Trollope’ waiting for me at the desk. The lady who was standing at the desk at the time didn’t find it funny. At all. Damn Anthony Trollope and his unfortunate surname.

After all the confusion and apologising that followed I didn’t really feel that I could walk away without purchasing the offending book, despite the fact that I haven’t read the three that precede it in the series. Oh well!

2 thoughts on “August round up

Leave a Reply

