Top Ten Tuesday: Most read authors

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke And The Bookish. This week’s theme is all about the authors I’ve read most.

I had a wee break from TTT because I found the last two topics a little tricky, a bit too niche for my reading/blogging habits. This week’s theme is more general so you’d think it’d be easier, wouldn’t you? My trouble is that although I like to think I’ve read books by a wide variety of authors, I don’t tend to read more than two or three books by any one of them. In reading terms I like to get around a bit. I’m a commitment-phobe.

1 Enid Blyton. Famous Five, Mallory Towers, Noddy…. I read them all. But not Secret Seven. Eurgh. I hated Secret Seven. Favourite: The Hollow Tree House.

2 Charles Dickens. I don’t want to sound like a stuck record but Dickens is one of the only authors I go back to again and again. I’ve read eight of his novels and some short stories too. Favourite: Probably Our Mutual Friend.

3 J. K. Rowling. Harry Potter was one of those very rare occasions when I read an entire series all the way through from beginning to end. It may only have been possible because I spread it out over fifteen years but still, quite an achievement in my eyes. Favourite: Harry Potter And The Goblet Of Fire.

4 Agatha Christie. When I’m feeling lazy, or I really just don’t know what to read, I turn to Christie. I’ve read so many over the years that the titles, plots and characters are starting to blur a little. Favourite: Murder On The Orient Express.

5 Roald Dahl. No surprises here. I had the complete set. I read them all. Repeatedly. Favourite: Either The Enormous Crocodile or The Fantastic Mr Fox…… or maybe Matilda.

6 Margaret Atwood. My old roommate was responsible for getting me completely hooked on Margaret Atwood. I never finished the Oryx and Crake series so one day I’ll go back and do that…. I hope. Favourite: The Blind Assassin.

7 Jacqueline Wilson. I read tons of these as a child and then read a load more when I was trying to finish the BBC Big Read. They were great. Favourite: Double Act.

8 Winston Graham. I discovered the Poldark books while I was staying at my grandparents’ house in Sussex one summer when I was about 12. Over three successive summers I read them all. Favourite: Ross Poldark.

9 Judy Blume. She understood teenagers. ‘nuff said. Favourite: Superfudge at first, Deenie when I was a bit older.

10 Graham Greene. I’m scraping the barrel with this one since I’ve only read four GG books, but that’s still more than I have most other authors. I got a bit obsessed with Graham Greene for a while. Favourite: Brighton Rock.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most read authors

  1. I love the idea of being a book commitment-phobe. I have the opposite problem and kind of hate to try new things!

    I hope you don’t mind, I stole your idea for putting a favourite at the end of each for my response to this meme

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Madd Addam Triliogy (the one with Oryx and Crake) is fantastic – you really should revisit it! I’m hoping I can get around to rereading it sometime soon. Margaret Atwood is also on my list!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally forgot about Roald Dahl for my list :O I don’t even know how many of his books I’ve read…maybe 5 or 6??? I loved them so much as a kid though and *whispers* even occasionally reread them with no regrets. xD
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

    • To be fair, I nearly forgot about Roald Dahl too. And he wrote some of the greatest children’s books ever (in my very humble opinion!). I really wish I’d kept them instead of giving them to the charity shop when I considered myself too old for them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

