Top Ten Tuesday: Hyped books I’ve never read

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke And The Bookish. This week’s theme is hyped books I’ve never read.

There’s not much to introduce with this one so here you are:

1. Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James. You could argue that I’m a prude, or a snob or that I just pay too much attention to bad reviews… but I’ve deliberately avoided this like the plague. To be fair, I tend to avoid anything with graphic sex scenes, mainly because I always find them a bit ridiculous. I suspect that even if FSOG had been written by Dostoyevsky I’d probably still snigger like an immature teenager at all the nudey bits.

2. Anything by Terry Pratchett. There isn’t a deep and meaningful reason behind this one; I just haven’t got round to reading any yet. I’m not really sure where to start and the fact that he wrote so many books, that so many people love, makes it really hard to choose a good one to start with. I think I’m tempted by Good Omens but we’ll see how it goes.

3. Ulysses by James Joyce. I’m in awe of anyone who has succeeded in reading Ulysses. I’m ashamed to say I’ve not even tried, I’m too intimidated by it. I’m sure it can’t be as terrifying as I imagine.

4.The Catcher In The Rye by J. D. Salinger. One day I’ll get round to this one; I just never seem to be in the mood for it.

5. New Moon, Eclipse etc by Stephanie Meyer. Here’s a confession. I only read Twilight out of curiosity because one of my friends hated it with such a passion. She was right. It’s pretty awful. Hence, no motivation to continue.

6. The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkein. This is my problem with trilogies: I love the first one, get bored in the middle of the second one, never read the third. Every. Single. Time. I should learn to pace myself. One day I’ll go back and finish this off.

7. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson. My mum and sister loved this. They read the whole series and talked about it all the time. They said I wouldn’t like it and I thought they were probably right.

8. Game Of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. I’ve heard great things about these books – enough to tempt me – but I’m suffering from complete GoT over-saturation at the moment, and I don’t even watch the TV show. It just needs to go away for a while and come back later, when all the fuss has died down.

9. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I looked for this in the library a few times but gave up pretty easily when I couldn’t find it. I’ve heard a few people say it’s overrated so I’m not sure whether to continue looking or just give up. Really, I shouldn’t be so easily swayed by other people’s opinions.

10. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. The HG books have been recommended by so many people but it’s just taking me a while to get round to them. One day I’ll get there.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Hyped books I’ve never read

  1. We have a couple of these in common. I read ‘The Catcher in the Rye’ and was really disappointed by it. Sometimes it’s really not worth reading the hyped books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read a couple Terry Pratchett, but never really got into his stuff like other people seem to. Dragon Tattoo was a huge disappointment. I read the first Hunger Games book before it became a thing, which is probably why I enjoyed it much more than the others.

    Like

  3. I haven’t read anything from Pratchett either but I gravitate towards Good Omens as well (if I were to read something). The blurb makes it sound like loads of fun! You aren’t missing much with Catcher in the Rye! Even though I read it for academia several years ago, the protagonist still remains a top contender for most annoying character. But to each their own I guess.

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad I’m not the only one who has trouble with the last book in a trilogy, I wish more series were concluded in two books or less! I’m a life long Terry Pratchett fan, so I’m biased but definitely have a crack at ‘Good Omens’. I think enjoying ‘Gone Girl’ relies heavily on being surprised by the twist, so if you know how it ends, I probably wouldn’t bother 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I read one Pratchett book and never bothered again. I have never made it to the 3rd Tolkien book either. I was too old when I read _Catcher in the Rye_ Don’t bother. Couldn’t make it through Ulysses. Not interested in 50 Shades or Stephanie Meyers. Read Gone Girl without knowing much about it (and having followed the Peterson case closely). Don’t know that I recommend it, but it was interesting for me. Did like The Hunger Games books. –Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

