Top Ten Tuesday: Best books of 2015 so far

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. This week’s subject: my favourite books of the year so far.

By my calculations I’ve completed sixteen books this year. A number of them have already been blogged so there’s no need for explanation, just follow the links!

Here they are, in no particular order:

1. Far From The Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy – blogged here

2. White Teeth by Zadie Smith – this was pre-blog so there’s no post but I got completely hooked on this. It was funny, sharp and hugely entertaining. The ending was a tad anti-climactic but I had a great time getting there.

3. A Tale Of Two Cities by Charles Dickens – blogged here 

4. The Suspicions Of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale – blogged here 

5. Eichmann in Jerusalem by Hannah Arendt – also pre-blog. I read this at university but decided to revisit it back in February. Harrowing but darkly fascinating.

6. The Nine Tailors by Dorothy L. Sayers – blogged here 

7. The House Of Mirth by Edith Wharton – blogged here 

8. Daniel Deronda by George Eliot – blogged here 

9. A Long, Long Time Ago And Essentially True by Brigid Pasulka – blogged here

10. ???

Oh dear, Number 10. What are we to do with you? There are two books vying for the last place on this list: Howards End by E.M. Forster and George Seaver’s Edward Wilson Of The Antarctic (unblogged). I’m tempted to go for Forster: Howards End, although I had a rough time reading it, did not have a single chapter devoted to a discussion of parastic diseases in native game birds, which is more than can be said for Edward Wilson (it’s a shame because I did kind of enjoy George Seaver’s book).

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best books of 2015 so far

  1. So glad to hear you liked The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton. It wasn’t my favorite read.this year, unfortunately.

    I like the rest of your choices. Thanks for sharing your favorite reads of the year so far with us!! I have some new to me titles to check out and potentially add to my ever growing reading wishlist!!

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for the week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/06/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-books-ive-read.html

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

