Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my TBR list for summer 2015

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is the top ten books I’d like to read this summer.

Ooh this is a tricky one. Generally I don’t tend to plan too far ahead – I’m too easily tempted by new books that come along – so all this list really tells you is that these are the books I’m thinking about today. Ask me tomorrow and I’m sure you’ll get completely different answers!

1. Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee. How many TBR lists does this appear on I wonder? Tons, I’m sure. I gave in and pre-ordered mine at W H Smiths last week.

2. The Suspicions Of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale. This was a birthday present from our chickens (presumably with a little financial assistance from P). I’m not too sure what to expect but I saw some of the TV shows and enjoyed them. Paddy Considine is great.

3. Oscar And Lucinda by Peter Carey. This has been on my list for years. I finally bought a copy a couple of weeks ago…. and immediately realised I’d gone off the idea. Isn’t that annoying? Maybe in a month or two I’ll have worked up some more enthusiasm for it.

4. The End Of The Affair by Graham Greene. Reading this a few years ago sparked an obsessive Graham Greene binge that lasted a whole summer until I got fed up (a bit like when I binge watched A Game Of Thrones and then got so bored of it I never made it onto the third series – there’s a pattern here). Anyhoo, I remember this being awesome and I’d like to read it again.

5. The Woodlanders by Thomas Hardy. I was a fool for being scared of Hardy. The Woodlanders is my mum’s favourite so it’s made on to this list on her recommendation.

6. Amo, Amas, Amat by Harry Mount. Latin would be a handy language to know where I work but I’ve always been too lazy to make a concerted effort to learn. I bought this at the Roman Army Museum, thinking it’d be a fun introduction.

7. Coraline by Neil Gaiman. I told my brother’s girlfriend that I’m always a little disappointed by Neil Gaiman books; I never enjoy them as much as I expect to. They very kindly bought me this for my birthday to change my mind.

8. 1215: The Year Of Magna Carta by Danny Danziger and John Gillingham. This was another birthday present and I’m looking forward to reading it hugely. Given that it’s the 800th anniversary this week I might bump it up the list and start it a bit sooner.

9. Any Anthony Trollope novel. I’ve always suspected that I’d like Anthony Trollope but I’ve never got round to reading any of his books. But where do I start?

10. Some of the stories in The World Of Jeeves by PG Wodehouse. I like Wodehouse. He’s always reliably entertaining.

So there you go! Will I manage to read all of them? Almost certainly not. But it’s been quite nice to think about all these possibilities stretching out before me.

I had the day off yesterday and was looking forward to spending some of it reading but the weather was so nice that I chose to do some gardening and go for lunch with my mum instead. I’m making really slow progress through Howards End so I probably should have taken the opportunity while it was there.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books on my TBR list for summer 2015

  1. Funnily enough Coraline was technically written as children’s horror…but I know quite a few people myself included who credit Coraline to their Gaiman addiction…I hope you love it 🙂

    Like

  2. You should definitely try Trollope. I’ve just read my first – The Warden, the first of his Barchester Chronicles and found it amusing and very readable. Also LOVED The End of the Affair and I’m a big Hardy fan. Love Wodehouse too – it really cheers me up. I did enjoy Oscar and Lucinda so do give it a go. Sometimes you just have to wait for the right time and place to read a book so don’t force it.
    Thank you so much for liking my post on Travelling with Books. I really appreciated it. I shall look forward to reading more on your blog.

    Like

    • Thanks! The Warden is the one I’ve set my sights on, a few people have suggested it as a good place to start now. I haven’t given up on Oscar & Lucinda. I think so much of your enjoyment of a book is dependent on the frame of mind you are in when you start reading and I definitely don’t want to spoil it by forcing myself! I really liked your Travelling With Books post and I was in awe of the number of books in your suitcase! Cheers.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books to read this autumn | the blue bore

Leave a Reply

