Choices

I had a day or two off while I recovered from my A Tale Of Two Cities hangover. Sometimes it just feels a bit wrong to begin another book when you’re still recovering from the last one… or maybe that’s just me. I’m always a bit worried that I won’t give the new book a fair chance if I’m still hankering after the one I just finished.

In the meantime I pondered over what to read next. There were a few contenders:

· Howards End by E. M. Forster

· The Ocean At The End Of The Lane by Neil Gaiman

· Far From The Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

· The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas

· The Wombles by Elizabeth Beresford

· The Sot Weed Factor by John Barth

Some of these are re-reads, some of these have been lent to me, and some are very much dependent on the book finally, one day, please, becoming available at my local library (I’m looking at you, Gaiman).

In the end the decision was very quick to make: I was late for work yesterday morning and grabbed the first To-Be-Read book I could find before I legged it out the door. My shelves are alphabetised by author and H is at about eye level on the shelf so it was perhaps inevitable that it would be Hardy. We have a bit of a difficult history, Hardy and I, so I’m a bit concerned that I won’t finish it. We’ll see how it goes.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

